Kickin’ A&&

I’m working on a couple of posts with some exciting developments.  In the meantime let me take a moment or two to update those of you who care to follow along about a recent goal and my progress.

A few weeks back I set a personal goal of getting really “good” at pull-ups.

img_9617

Weights and a ball

Thanks to a friend who fabricated an awesome pull-up bar for my back yard I finally had the right tools, so to speak.  The other tools would be my arms, shoulders, and back.  I’ve kind of had them since birth but you know how that goes.

My “progress goal” was to do 25 pull-ups every day in a span covering no more than 5 minutes.

In the first few days I accomplished this goal just barely by doing a set of 5, then resting a minute, then continuing with additional sets until I had hit the magic number.

It was tough going and the subsequent sets (after the first) were of a lesser quality in terms of form and required greater exertion on my part.

But I did it.

Last night – I am happy to say – I knocked out 3 sets of 10 in under 2 minutes!

I include the exclamation point there because this is a HUGE deal for me.  What’s more, each set, in my opinion, saw proper form and was exponentially easier than those weak sets from the first day.  And that was just 3 weeks ago.

I am demonstrably stronger, bigger, and, ironically leaner than I was when I started.  My mom, in town for a few weeks, commented, when she saw me coming in from a workout with my shirt off, that I had bulked up.  I’d like to think mom’s tell the truth more often than not.

At the same time, I am continuing my BodyBeast routine of lifting heavy weights every single day.  I could not be doing that without the help and support of the same friend who made the bar for me.  He’s a good man and I greatly appreciate working out with him.  His friendship is invaluable and the motivation we provide each other is priceless.

I’d like to think this proves the theory I was testing.  If you want to do pull ups, then do pull ups.

IMG_9372

Do MORE pull ups!

By the way, in addition to the 30 pull ups, I’ve been doing more.  See that, another friend (JB) challenged me once to always go father when working out.  Only a minute after finishing the 30 I proceeded to do 15 chin ups (underhand grip, working different muscles) and 15 “scapula pull ups” designed to specifically target the muscles of the upper mid-back.  These last movements actually contribute to being able to do more effective pull ups.

If you’re reading this looking for inspiration, let me know if I’ve helped by dropping a comment.  If you’d like advice on any aspect of this plan, send me a message.

Otherwise, I’ll be back on the bar.

2 responses to “Kickin’ A&&

  1. Wow! Happy Father’s Day!

  2. Kaitlyn Jacques

    I applaud your efforts! I’m currently getting back into a routine and want to document it on my blog as well! Keep at it!!!

Leave a Reply

