Daily Archives: April 6, 2017

Happy Birthday, Dad!

IMG_0629

(L-R) Me, my daughter, Dad (in his infamous “black sheep” tie)

This would have been your 81st birthday, Dad, so here in Texas your youngest son and his family will celebrate in your honor. I can’t say I’d take you away from the face of God but we do miss you.

Just a short while ago, one of your 8 adoring daughters (you had such delight in having 8 girls) and I were texting.  She forwarded me a voicemail you had left her.  It was the first time I’d heard your voice in months and it sounded the same as I remembered.  You were asking her when she’d be by to pick you up for daily mass.

So I went through my old voicemails and found one you’d left me a year and a half ago.  You were scheduled to go into the hospital to have your carotid artery scoped and you must have gotten word that I was trying to find tickets to come be with you.  “Not going into the hospital this week.  Long story (chuckle) but give me a call and I’ll tell you about it,” you said.  Man I’m glad I don’t delete my voicemails.

We miss you.

I miss you.