Bad Apple

Regular readers know that I am a user of Apple products.  Previously I would have stated that I was a “fan” of Apple products.  That changed this weekend.

Fifteen months ago I purchased an iPhone 6S+ through my carrier.  Long gone are the days when the mobile carrier would subsidize the cost so I paid the full cost of close to $900.  This cost was “conveniently” spread out over 24 months on my bill.  This means I still owe close to $300 on this particular device.

When I went to bed on Thursday night I charged my phone.

When I woke up on Friday morning I unplugged a paperweight.

The phone is completely and unmistakable DEAD.

The thing is I have NEVER dropped the phone, it has no visible defects, and it gave absolutely no indication that anything was wrong.

I walked into the Apple Store in University Park Village, Fort Worth, TX this afternoon with the paperweight.  The “genius” was actually as pleasant as possible.  I have no fault with him.  My fault is in the corporate structure that trained him.

“As far as I’m concerned, the only acceptable response from the genius should have been ‘We’re terribly sorry, sir, that our product did not work.  How soon can we replace it for you?'”

He diagnosed that the logic board was shot.  I don’t even know what that means.  He could not tell me how this happened but was happy to offer to sell me a new phone for $329.  He said it would be cheaper than replacing the logic board.  Still have no clue what that means.

Let’s step back a moment…

  • You sold me a product for damn near $1000.
  • When I shell out this kind of cash I expect the product to last more than 15 months.
  • I further expect you to stand by your product.
  • If you’re going to have the balls to label your customer service reps “geniuses” you might want to empower them to do a bit more than try to sell me a new product.

As far as I’m concerned, the only acceptable response from the genius should have been “We’re terribly sorry, sir, that our product did not work.  How soon can we replace it for you?”

I don’t expect a corporation to have a soul but I do expect them to recognize when their product has failed.

I contacted my mobile carrier.  They weren’t any more helpful.  They recommend I trade in my device.  “The trade in cost will give you a credit towards a new phone!”  “That’s great,” I said, “but does that trade-in amount you just mentioned count if the phone is dead?”

Yeah, didn’t think so.

I will find a solution.  The most likely is that I will take my wife’s phone when I head out the door in the morning and hand it back when I get home from work.  If any of you have had a similar problem or can offer a better solution I’d love to hear it.

But as far as I’m concerned, the iPhone 6S+ is one Apple this high school teacher can do without.

rita on the phone

Hello, Apple? Listen, I’ve got a problem…

2 responses to “Bad Apple

  1. Computers can be so finicky. I feel your pain. Had a 500-dollar repair bill on our fridge the minute it was out of warranty. Had it just over a year. Married 45 years, first washing machine lasted for 30 of them. On washer number 3 now, mostly made of plastic. There’s more, but gee, this is the 21st century! Need to bring back pride in workmanship whether manufactured here or abroad….better customer service and corporate ethics wouldn’t hurt, either. In the meantime, check out Consumer Cellular – maybe you can save some money on your next phone.

  2. Pingback: What I’ve Learned about How to Eat Crow | Harvey Millican: Raising Your Kids Without Lowering Your IQ

Leave a Reply

