The Love Your… Challenge

There’s a trend going around Facebook right now rather like a fungal infection.  It’s called the “Love Your Spouse Challenge”.

On the surface it seems harmless, playful, even romantic.

The user accepts the challenge, then goes on a murderous rampage.  By rampage I mean that he or she (usually she) commits to posting photos of that person with his or her (usually her) spouse for the next seven days.  Each photo is captioned as “Day 1 of the Love Your Spouse Challenge…” followed by a nauseating wonderfully lovely description of how or why she loves her spouse.  She then challenges another woman (or man) to do the same and the cycle continues.

By murderous I mean it kills a little bit of the soul of each person who lays eyes on it.

Being the self-proclaimed king of social media (and a dude, to boot), I was dumbfounded when this trend first appeared and, after two days, I had not been challenged to participate.  Oh the pictures and descriptions I could come up with!

Maybe it’s the fact that all of my lady friends knew I’d turn it into a joke.  Maybe it’s the chest hair.  Who can say.  All I know is that I was left out.  Boo.

What I did find out was that my wife had been invited to participate and declined.

“I don’t need to post pictures of us to prove my love for you,” she said in the most practical of tones.

When you put it that way…

The thing is, she has a point and she’s always right.  I love that woman.  Again, proof that I could have been all over this thing.

So having been ignored by the women of Facebook and shut out by my own wife I decided to take matters into my own hands.

No one’s gonna’ tell me I can’t Love My Spouse in pictures for seven straight days!

…except my spouse.

Welcome to Day 1 of the Love Your Gin Challenge!

I remember when Sapphire and I first met.  I was in my early twenties.  Not much of a drinker back then.  I had this friend who would always order a gin and tonic when we were at a bar and one day I worked up the courage to ask for myself.  As the bartender turned to me I boldly proclaimed: “I’ll have a Sapphire and tonic, please!”  I must have sounded desperate but there was no going back.  That night, our lips locked, and by lips I mean mine with the glass.  The botanicals, the aroma, it was divine.  I knew I’d never go back to water again.  And I never have.

2 responses to “The Love Your… Challenge

  1. You are funny. Mrs. Harvey is a saint.

Leave a Reply

