I Am A Teenage Idol

A couple of nights ago I wrote about the pitfalls of putting your kids to bed.  Dear God, tonight my daughter ambushed me.  For about 90 minutes earlier this evening I snoozed precariously on the edge of a very pretty, frilly princess blanket.  I was on the edge of the bed because it’s a twin bed and I’m a big man.  I had fallen asleep.  My little girl had not.

Do you know why I woke up?

My sweet angel was placing a blanket over me.  “I didn’t want you to get cold, Daddy,” she said.

Is that just about the sweetest thing you’ve ever heard?  I thought so too.

I recovered my senses, she fell asleep, and I went back to my Netflix series with my wife.  Then I remembered I wanted to write.  So here’s the prompt.

Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

I idolized legendary New York news anchors Chuck Scarborough and Sue Simmons.  And who wouldn’t?  They were amazing together.  They were the reason I wanted to be a news anchor.  Of course at the time I believe my hope was that we’d either anchor the 11:00 news as a trio or that Chuck would eventually retire and I would replace him but that he’d still do sweeps specials and I’d show mad respect.

Weren’t expecting that, were you?  That’s why they call me the Master of Surprise.  Or something like that…

So what’s with the title?  “I Am A Teenage Idol”.  I never became an anchor.  Never even reported on a single story live.  I did work as a producer.  This means I got to watch other people take credit for my reporting.  I’m not bitter.  You know why?  Because I’m a high school teacher.  I have so much fun doing what I do.

My students idolize me.

So there you have it.  They’re teenagers.  I’m their idol.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

3 responses to “I Am A Teenage Idol

  1. What an original thing to want to be as a kid. I love it. And that you at least got into the business.

Leave a Reply

