Unpopular: Our Choice of Home

Today’s Daily Post Prompt intrigued me.

Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

I suppose, looking around, that my neighborhood might be a good example of an “unpopular” choice.  My wife and I had been renting a house (while also carrying a mortgage on our previous house in Virginia) for two years after moving to Texas.

We were tired of the payments.

We could have bought the rental house outright from the owner.  We had already planned to sell the first house.

Instead we decided to look for a house that would give us the most bang for our buck.

We looked in a less-fashionable part of town, less “desirable” from the standpoint of most young-ish couples looking to build a dream nest.

IMG_0289

Didn’t look like much when we moved in but look at all that space!

What we found was a solid gem.  Close to 3000 sq ft and cheap at half the price.  We can have this place paid off in a few years.  We sank some money into a little remodeling but we didn’t go overboard.

Sure, many of my friends prefer not to come over (and some who do take advantage of Texas’ open carry gun law).  Guys, it’s not Beirut.  We kind of like it here.  So what if we’re a little close to the train tracks?  We’ve got some of the nicest neighbors ever.  I’ll sit on my patio and drink by myself, thank you very much.

Then there was the time I went into a seminary.

Yep, definitely not the most popular choice.

Take your pick.

Leave a Reply

