Resolved (Again)

The New Year is a wonderful time to set resolutions.

It’s also a good time to look back and see how we did with our old resolutions.

Toward that end I looked back at a post of about a year ago.  I called it “Blogging Resolutions for 2015“.  You can check it out for yourself.

I vowed to write more “for my children”, travel more, and get in shape.

On the first count, I believe I hit the mark.  The writing wasn’t as voluminous as I would have liked but it was all for the kids.

As far as travel, I did travel more but to familiar places.  Unfortunately, that travel was largely to visit sick family members.  Nonetheless, it was a mini success.

midnight clock

It’s never too late to make some changes.

And as for fitness…  Well, around July 1 I finally got on track in a way that I never had.  I took the advice of a friend who’s a trainer and went for it.  I went for it hard.  And I saw results.  My trainer was even impressed with the slight transformation I had made by August when he saw me again.  Then he inspired me to kick it up a notch and add running to routine.  For the first time in my entire life, I became a runner.  My goal was to be able to run 2 miles.  Wouldn’t you know it, by early December I ran my first 5K (a little more than 3 miles)!

And then I hit a few walls.  Mainly, it’s psychological.  After that race I got the strange idea in my head that I was never going to be as good as my trainer.  And that hurt for a few minutes (days).  It’s hard when you realize you can’t be all that you wanted to be.  Man, I wanted to be shredded like you wouldn’t believe.  Just once, I wanted to sport 4% bodyfat instead of 24.  BUT…  I’m proud of what I accomplished even if I’m the only one and I decided that, once Christmas was over, I’d get back on track with a more attainable goal.  Hopefully by next Christmas I’ll be down around 20%.

On New Year’s Eve my sister-in-law brought over a few envelopes.  In each one was a resolution (or two or three) that each of us had written last New Year’s Eve.  We opened them up.  The surprising thing is that I had completely forgotten about these cards.

On my card:

“I resolve in 2015 to: father another child.”

Ouch.  OK.  Didn’t happen despite many, many attempts.

On my wife’s card:

“I resolve in 2015 to: be blessed with another gift from God.”

Yikes.  So at least we were both on the same page albeit she worded it more like a woman.  So we’re infertile.  Big deal.  Our new resolution is to treasure ever more the two we have.

Also on her card was a resolution to run a 5K.  How funny is that?  If I’d only known, we could have made it a couple’s thing.  So what if running a 5K wasn’t a goal of mine until later in the year?

Got any resolutions this year?  Feel free to share them.  If sharing’s not your thing, than draw some hope from this infertile, writers-blocked, fatty and keep in mind that there’s always a new year to be the new you.

Leave a Reply

