New Year, New You (or Me)

Having recently wrapped our family trip to New Jersey for a beautiful Christmas, and having just put the finishing touches on all of my entries for each day of that trip (so the kids can read about it one day); I am prepared to embark on a new voyage.

pod-2016-mdYou see, while I was publishing that last post, I began to realize that it was exactly five years ago that I put the finishing touches on a particular post.  When I started typing in the “tags” box, I proudly typed, for the first time, “postaday2011”.  My friend Debbi had turned my on to this idea of blogging every single day.  The challenge was raised and accepted.

I had such fun.  In fact, until late July of that year I was even successful!  I posted every single day.  Even then, it was our move to Texas that screwed me up, but only temporarily.  We were without wifi for about a week and then the signal was week.  Blogging was a chore.  But I got back into the swing of things.  As 2012 drew near I had to determine if it was something I wanted to continue.

It was.

In 2012 I actually did it (even if they did change the tag by simply dropping the year).  I posted 366 days straight!

So for 2013, I thought I’d try it again.  And again I sort of fell off sometime around August.

2014 saw a major spinal surgery set me back a bit by keeping me away from my laptop a while.  I settled into the idea of just posting for the joy of posting.  And I was fine with that.

2015?  Well, It was a bit like 2014.  However, at the start of the year I made an effort to reach out to new bloggers and offer whatever assistance I could, remembering that I had once been one of them.  The result was a doubling in the amount of followers.  I also discovered many wonderful blogs to follow myself.

So here we are.

It’s 2016.  I’ve learned quite a bit as a blogger.  For instance, short (one sentence) paragraphs are easier to read.  Pictures help too.

But I’m down for this.  I’ve got a new laptop courtesy of my wife and kids and I am ready to try repeating 2012 (or any of those other five years).

I love blogging.  I love writing.  I love following and being followed.

If you’re a new blogger, please consider following and by all means comment!  I LOVE comments.  You will too.  Almost as much as you’ll love checking your stats.  Unless that’s just a guy thing.

Here’s to 2016 and successful blogging!

2 responses to “New Year, New You (or Me)

  1. Looking forward to a leap year full of posts, Harvey!

  2. Good going, Tim! And when you reach out to the youngsters at the Library Support Group on Wednesday, I know they’ll appreciate your wisdom and advice!

Leave a Reply

