Christmas in the Fatherland: Day 8

I figure it’s time to wrap this thing up.  Heck, I’ve already interrupted it once with a silly post about January 2nd.  And that’s because of a few things that will be discussed in just a few short posts.

Today was spent visiting my brother in the hospital.  As you recall, I spent a good deal of time last night in the ER with him.  I left around 2AM with the understanding that he would be taken up to a room momentarily.  Imagine my surprise when I woke up at 8 this morning to discover via text from my sister that he had not been admitted for several more hours.  Fortunately I was able to rest in the knowledge that the nurse taking care of him in the ER was wonderful AND that she was on duty until 7:30 this morning.

I am a rebel!

My wife and I walked into the hospital this afternoon and encountered my youngest sister on her way out with my mom.  They had gone to see him an hour or two earlier but had no luck.  They waited in his room because he had just been taken out for an ultrasound and had yet to return.  Other than a brief visit on Christmas Day my mom hadn’t seen my brother in several weeks.  Given her age and his infection, it was deemed not a safe option for either of them.  We decided to take Mom back up with us and wait it out.  On the way down the hall we literally bumped into my brother being wheeled back to his room.

We sat with him in his room for a few hours.  Another sister showed up as did a dear friend of mine who happens to be a priest.  He brought us Communion and regaled us with tales of an Ironman triathalon he had recently completed.  That reminds me, what’s going on with my own fitness routine?  We’ll figure that out as we go along.

Veal scallopine in tomato sauce

After saying good bye, we left so my brother could rest.  Another sister (remember there are many of us) invited us to dinner at one of our favorite Mediterranean restaurants.  This was a capital idea!  Walking into the restaurant I was so happy to see so many of my family already gathered around the table.  Sangria flowed freely and everyone had a good time.  This was so necessary after the past 24 hours.

And thats about it for the day.  Sorry for the abrupt ending.  You’ll get over it.  Please continue to pray for him.

Leave a Reply

