For New Bloggers, A Slight of Hand

I am having so much fun sharing the things I have learned from my blogging experience with others.  Thank you all for reading.  It is gratifying.  I am trying to get to your comments as well.

So, did you see what I did there?

Didn’t catch it?  Well, I can’t repeat it without going into another post.  Here, I’ll just tell you.

I write this post to you on Wednesday January 14, 2015 in the 6 AM hour.  And yet, the post appears to have been written sometime around 11 PM the night before.  You know that’s not true because you didn’t see it then.

Trust me, you'll like this function.

Trust me, you’ll like this function.

It’s called pre-dating/post-dating your post and it’s possible by clicking on “Change Status” on the right inside your post editor.  Then, adjust the date and time under “Scheduled”.  Remember that the time is going to appear in a 24 hour format so 11PM needs to be entered as 23:00.

Now, why would you do this?  Simple.  Let’s say you had something awesome to share and the thought came to you late at night before you drifted off to sleep on your couch watching a DVR of Downton Abbey with your wife even though you protest that you aren’t into it but she’s had it on so often in your presence that you know… you just know.  Then, let’s also assume that you’re keeping a journal-type blog where you write about something each day.  There you go!

But why I like it, and I learned this from my friend Debbi (check her out, she’s amazing and she’s the one who got me blogging on Worpdress years ago), is that you can write posts ahead of time and have them post when you want to.  I used this function when I had major surgery almost a year ago.  I was able to “post” before I was out of general anesthesia!

8 responses to “For New Bloggers, A Slight of Hand

  1. I still feel new at all of this, and I am really enjoying your latest posts. 🙂 Thanks for all the tips.

  2. Definitely gonna love this feature to unload all my thoughts but not overload my readers. Thanks

  3. Wow thanks for the help x

  4. Thanks for the great tip!

  5. This was very helpful. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

