Advice to My “Baby Bloggers”

Wow.

In my post of two days ago, “You Gotta Give to Get“, I mentioned that one of my resolutions in the new year for my blog was to attract more followers and get more comments.  Basically, I want to finally reach a larger audience.

Imagine my surprise, then, when that post, along with my act of reaching out and hitting the old “follow” button on a bunch of blogs I came across in my reader (and actually found interesting in nature) was the catalyst for my best day ever for follows!

Even more amazing (and really touching) were the comments from many “baby bloggers” who told me that they were inspired by what I wrote and hoped to learn some blogging tips from little old me!

Write it, baby!

Write it, baby!

Well, I’m certainly no expert but here are some things I have learned from seven years of blogging.

  1. Remember the Golden Rule!  You know this one.  Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  That means follow to be followed, leave comments and others will comment…  Even more than that, though, remember that as you sought help, others can also learn from you.  Share your experience as a blogger whenever you can and lend a hand.  Even if you’ve only been at it a day someone can learn from you.
  2. Keep it classy.  This doesn’t always mean “clean” in the traditional sense.  Occasionally a bit of salt might be necessary but never go trashy in your blog.  Use only the words necessary to advance your story, remembering that it is YOUR story to tell.  Always ask: “How would I feel if my kids or my boss saw this post?”  You might be OK with dropping a four-letter word but at least consider it first.
  3. A picture paints a thousands words.  My blog didn’t really start taking off until a friend of mine suggested I do two things.  The first was to include pictures.  I try my best to use pictures I’ve actually taken.  This way there are no copyright issues to deal with.  I was a TV producer so I know a little about those.  The WordPress app and a smartphone make the process wonderfully simple.  But if you’re short on personal stock photography head over to Wikimedia Commons where you can find a plethora of free pics.
  4. The other thing this friend told me was to keep it brief.  Wordpress has a longford tag (wplongform) and I’ve used it.  But for the most part, you’ll want to at least keep your paragraphs short.  For some reason, most people simply can’t envision themselves reading lots of words on a screen.
  5. I’ve always told myself that if I can find the perfect title then my post will write itself.  The title is the thing to catch attention.  Be creative.
  6. Find your niche.  I write about life as a dad, a practicing Catholic, a teacher.  I do it with a humorous bent.  Maybe cooking is your thing.  Maybe you write about circus clowns getting mauled by tigers.  I hate clowns.  I’d read that blog.
  7. Don’t forget to tag your posts and go crazy with it.  I tag everything with “postaday”, “dailypost”, and then a whole bunch of things.  Remember, if someone searches for one of those terms, he’ll find you.  But he can’t find what isn’t there.
  8. Check your spelling and grammar.  Having said that I’m sure there are tons of typos in this post alone.  No one’s perfect.

Well I think that’s it and I hope that I’ve been able to provide some guidance.  Don’t forget to share the love.  Keep liking my posts and I’ll try to do the same for yours.  One thing I’ve found is that while we may not all agree on content, we bloggers can all agree that we love writing or else we wouldn’t be here.  Let’s help each other out in our mutual admiration of our craft.

Happy blogging!

18 responses to “Advice to My “Baby Bloggers”

  1. Wow. Thanks for the tips!! I’m new in blogging and I find this advice uplifting ^_^

  2. I debate with myself on if I should try to reach more readers or not with my blog….on whether I would be helping and/or entertaining others or if it would just over-inflate my ego. Your advice is good above and not inconsistent with other professional bloggers (Michael Hyatt, et al.). I will just have to put it to prayer I suppose.

    Have a blessed Sunday!

  3. oversizedthoughtss

    Thank you for the great advice, i am new to blogging and this post is a great way of referring back to, just to help me in my early days of blogging!

  4. These posts are the reason I started following you in the beginning. Witty, fun, entertaining and educational. Welcome back!

  5. Thanks for the advice, new to bogging and this has really helped a lot 🙂

  6. Hi! I started my blog only yesterday and I find this post really helpful. Great read! Thanks, man! 🙂

  7. Thank you that was really helpful. I have a question though. How do we tag our posts? I’m new to this and don’t really know what a tag actually is

  8. Worthy to read. I am also a beginner and your post is very informative 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  9. This is great! All the stuff that nobody tells you. Going to get right back to improving my baby blog, thank you.

  10. I love this! Thank you so much for the advice. 🙂

  11. Thanks for your insights and encouragement! I’m pretty new at this and appreciate your help.
    http://carrollsawyer.wix.com/carrollsart

  12. Reblogged this on Harvey Millican: Raising Your Kids Without Lowering Your IQ and commented:

    Here’s my advice from one year ago. This all holds true even today. If you’re new to blogging and this helps get you started, use it and re-blog!

Leave a Reply

