Here We Are Again: Blogging Resolutions for 2015

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/26e/14887154/files/2015/01/img_0757.jpg
The real reason why I write.

Seems like every year I go through the same thing. I find myself looking at a WordPress interface, reflecting on the past and wondering about the future.

A few nights ago I received my blog stats for 2014. They were somewhat disappointing to me. Then I remembered that I’ve hardly blog at all this year compared to years past. True, I’ve been through a lot personally this year.

Looking back, I understand full well the reasons why I did not post as often as I have in the past.

The past was fun. I honestly enjoyed Sharing my “adventures” and chronicling our life for my children.

The future is always uncertain. I am a man who likes resolution. I like to know how things will be, how they will turn out.

I also like a sense of accomplishment. I have set goals in the past and achieved them. In 2012 for instance I blogged every single day. I did it. And I am proud of what I wrote.

This time of year, the beginning, always leaves me feeling a little depressed. Perhaps it is because going forward I really do not know what the future will bring and it is a little scary. Well I accomplish anything? Will my life impact the life of another in a positive way? And what effect will writing about it have?

Long since past the need to attract scores of followers, received tons of comments, and generally be recognized as an outstanding blogger; I want to blog in 2015 the way I began blogging in 2008. That is, I want to write for my children. I want to make my wife laugh. I want my friends – my true friends – to continue to be a part of my life though many miles may separate us.

Do I have more specific goals? Absolutely! When I first started blogging it was in the context of traveling. I hope to engage in more travels this coming year with my family. in the past I have also written about my ongoing quest to get in shape and finally conquered my crumbling spine. So I will be back at the gym this year and writing profusely about it. And in the time since I’ve started writing, I have taken great strides advancing my career. This year I hope to make a professional Leap and finally give my family in me something they can truly be proud of.

Short of achieving these goals, there is the outstanding matter of baby number three who has yet to materialize. As head of a severely Catholic household this is a matter of great pride and honor for me. With God’s blessing, 2015 might just be the year. And with my wife’s blessing, I may one day be able to write all about it! Believe me, it is a very funny and very poignant tale of true love, Fidelity, and absolute trust in God’s will.

So as I have done in years past I pose the question again. Are you with me? Will you share in my life and let me be a part of yours? Will you let me try to make you laugh, cry, and think more deeply? Will you invite others to the party?

Here’s to a glorious 2015! May God bless you abundantly with his peace.

Oh and for the love of God, would Wade Abbot and Dan Grady please start blogging again? You both right so exceptionally well and I love to read what you have to say.

6 responses to “Here We Are Again: Blogging Resolutions for 2015

  1. Happy New Year to you and your family! Looking forward to more of your adventures in 2015!

  2. I’m trying… I’m trying. Just posted something for the first time in… uhhhh forever. Bring on 2015!

  3. Pingback: Resolved (Again) | Harvey Millican: Raising Your Kids Without Lowering Your IQ

Leave a Reply

