My Friends and Their Boring Addictions

A friend of mine is trying to quit smoking again (and it’s not me).

The thing is that every time this guy tries he reveals himself to be a socially-awkward, overly anxious sort of fellow who has no idea what to do with his hands in public and even less of a clue as to how to handle his nervous energy.  I’m trying to cut him some slack.  He revealed that he wasn’t quite ready to try again this time but that circumstances drove him to it.  I suspect the ridiculously high cost of tobacco had something to do with it.  I really feel bad for him, though, because I always thought he was a nice guy — pleasant to be around, funny, entertaining if not very loquacious.  Unfortunately now he barely has two words to say.  It’s amazing how a change in behavior regarding one simple thing can turn someone’s whole personality like that.  I told him to try Zyban.  Of course, my answer to just about everything is a prescription.  They’ve always been there for me when I needed them.  He’s worried about being labeled due to the fact that the primary indication for that drug is as an antidepressant and, well, he’s not terrible depressed, just out of sorts.  I still think he should try it.  Of course, he just might make it through this time.  He might actually reverse the trend he was telling me about (where he thought he was having a stroke).  In the end he’ll probably be hit by a bus anyway because God’s ironic like that.  But I wish him the best of luck and ask you to join in praying with me for him.

Other than that, I can’t wait for fall to arrive.  This being North Texas, it should be here in about two months.

Leave a Reply

