Galveston 2014: Day 6

Making Animals out of Towels

Today saw me recovering (slightly) from yesterday.  Actually, I am soooo fortunate that my body has yet to return the favor for certain abuses I have inflicted on it over the years.  Truthfully, I woke up, drank some water, and went about my business.  Ooh, before I forget, that beard trimmer I bought the other day?  Works like a charm.  I definitely think I’m through with shaving (at least until I get bored again).

Another trip to mass, another trip to the Walmart for some essentials — trash bags, laundry detergent, etc.  When I got home I discovered that my wife and kids and just about everybody else had gone to the pool.  I was a little bummed because I really wanted to go the pool.  But, I thought of a more creative outlet for my frustration.  See, my wife has been trying to get me to agree to go on a cruise for years.  And the thing is I won’t even begin to consider it.  Why?  Have you seen the ocean?  It’s freakin’ huge!  No, the ocean is no place for me.  There isn’t enough Valium in the world.  Earlier in the week she had even brought it up again, this time trying to entice me by spinning tall tales of how the ship’s housekeeping staff, when making up one’s room, fold the towels into the shapes of animals.  Quick, how many phrases in that last sentence?  Never mind.  Anyway, I almost didn’t believe her until I looked it up on Google.  God bless Google.  So, while they were all still out I went around the house, aided by my mother-in-law who had just folded a whole bunch of linens, and did my best.  Take a gander.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally, in the evening it was time to drive 90 minutes north to Houston’s George Bush Intercontinental Airport to pick up my sister-in-law’s son who was joining us for the last few days.

Terminal A

Terminal A

3 responses to “Galveston 2014: Day 6

  1. It’s good to be prepared – now at least you know you qualify for a job on a cruise ship! How long did it take to fold those towels – I mean, create those works of art?

  2. Wow – will have to give it a try some time! No matter how old we are,
    there’s something new to learn every day!

Leave a Reply

