Galveston 2014: Day 5

Today’s post will be told mostly through the pictures I took during the day.

First up…

Rise and shine, Daddy!

Rise and shine, Daddy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After such a lovely wake up call I stepped out to survey the land, er, sea.

One day, lad, all THIS will be yours!

One day, lad, all THIS will be yours!

Pretty sure the people in the house next to us were swingers.

Pretty sure the people in the house next to us were swingers.

Finally – FINALLY – my friends, I was off to something I enjoy very much (and I need even more than that).  Daly mass.  You may recall, kids, that the last time I was in Galveston I was able to “break open” the house of God on 21st St. near the Strand.  Here’s what I’m getting at.  The first time I visited this island I paid a visit or two the Cathedral Basilica of St. Mary, Mother Church of Texas and seat of the Archbishop of Houston (strange that it’s in Galveston but that’s another story).  Then, a month later Hurricane Ike damn near destroyed this town and the cathedral, which had withstood the 1901 storm, was found six feet under water.  Five years after that (on my second visit) I approached the cathedral to discover that the doors, though shut, were not actually locked.  Together with a friend, my wife, and some passing tourists, we opened the place up to discover nothing but bare earth.  So sad.  Happily, in the intervening year the Archdiocese got its act together and restored the place to something beyond its former glory.  Don’t believe me?  Take a look.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Upon our return to the house I began the task of assisting my beautiful wife in preparation for the luau.  What luau, you ask?  Well, each of the people and/or families taking part in this trip had a themed night to plan.  My wife decided a luau was a good idea.  She even carved a shark out of a watermelon.  I think she’s on drugs.  I was tasked with hanging streamers, making a playlist on iTunes, and most importantly, getting our guests intoxicated mixing drinks.  The pictures can tell you better than my words.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, a very good time was had by all; even if many of them will never remember it.

Never, ever forget to pump up the party.

Never, ever forget to pump up the party.

Leave a Reply

