I HATE Numbers

See that number, just mocking me?

See that number, just mocking me?

Fellow iPhone users know what I’m talking about.  Every app on my screen for which I’ve allowed “push notifications” seems to mock me on a constant basis with a bright red circle hovering over the app with a number in it.  The thing is, I hate numbers. Actually, I hate math. Numbers are kind of harmless. It’s kind of like how a person might hate watching Nascar but be OK to get behind the wheel of the family minivan. Still, I hate loose ends and seeing those numbers reminds me that something needs to be attended to.

Check out those times...  Up top shows you that it was already late-night, down below shows that I let the alarms go all day.

Check out those times… Up top shows you that it was already late-night, down below shows that I let the alarms go all day.

For the past few months I have been taking a variety of painkillers to manage the recovery from my spinal fusion. In order to keep them straight I’ve kept a constant reminder or two or three open on my phone’s “reminders” app. So if I took a Valium at 8AM I would instantly reset the clock for 2PM. over the past few weeks I’ve been stretching it. 3:00 would come and go. Then 4:00, 5:00, etc. ultimately though I’d feel an onset of pain and reset the clock again.
Today I followed the advice of that disgustingly saccharine Disney song that also seems to mock me daily. I simply “Let it go…” And by the grace of God I made it through the day for the first time in over a year without… Ready for this?… Anything!
Take that, math! I hate you!
Praised be to God!

 

 

Tiny Tim hated math too...

Tiny Tim hated math too…

One response to “I HATE Numbers

  1. Yay! Cheering you on to complete recovery!

Leave a Reply

