Two Balding, Middle-Aged Irishmen

Well, first of all, that title is misleading.  Neither of us is middle-aged and I’m about as much Scots as I am Irish.

That being said, the hour is almost here.  I am so happy to report that I will soon be visiting with one of my best friends.  In the morning I head to the Mile High City to spend the weekend with Grady.  I’ve written about him before.  What I want to say now to bring some of you up to speed is that this guy and I first met when we were new students in a college seminary.  Clearly neither of us made it to ordination (though I went on a bit further than he).  I’d like to believe our wives thank us for that discernment process.  Though we remained in touch, we did lose contact for a few years.  Then when I was getting married I searched for and found him.  We reconnected and it turns out he was living a few miles from my future in-law’s.  That’s when we adopted the routine of getting together for dinner every summer when we were in town.

In the past few months since my surgery, though, he has been a rock for me.  He’d not only read but responded to every bizarre email I’d send at 2AM.  He’d reach out to me out of the blue to see how my recovery was going.  He’d encourage me and throughout it all we discovered that our already tight friendship was getting stronger.  We realized this must be God’s doing because he and I are probably the most unlikely of friends.  For starters, I’m a Devils fan. He’s a Flyers fan.  That alone ought to be enough for our paths never to have crossed.

In any event, sorry for the infrequent posting of late.  Keep me in your prayers (not only for a safe flight out and back but for my continued recovery).  And then I want you to think of the people in your lives.  Think of your spouses, your children, your parents and siblings.  Drop to your knees and give thanks for them.  Then think of your friends.  Is there someone in your life with whom you’ve lost touch?  It happens.  Reach out to him or her.  There was obviously a reason you became friends in the first place.  And give thanks for that person as well.  Try always to be the kind of friend you desire in another.  I hope I’ve been half as good a friend to him as he is to me.  But go now and give thanks.

I’ll keep you posted on the trip.

And after my trip I’ll come home to my true best friend.  Now I know I will never be as good a friend to her as she is to me but I’ll never stop trying.  And if I truly tried to give thanks for that gift, well…  Let’s just say I’d be on my knees all day, every day.

Deo Gratias.

2 responses to “Two Balding, Middle-Aged Irishmen

  1. Have a great visit with your friend. So nice to know you are getting out and about as you recuperate.

Leave a Reply

