Wait, No! That’s Not What I Meant!

Check it when he was much younger.  Back when he needed me.  Weeping.  Weeping.

Check it when he was much younger. Back when he needed me. Weeping. Weeping.

Ever since he was a little (little) boy I’ve complained to myself that I created a monster.  You see, I was never good with that thing they call “sleep training” and as a result my baby boy just “needed” someone (me) to lie down with him in his bed in order for him to fall asleep.  Baby Girl, as the second child, got the memo and practically puts herself to bed most nights.

So I lamented…  When’s he going to be able to go to bed on his own?!

Guess who’s suddenly started going to bed on his own.  And not fussing about it.

Tonight I felt very, very sad.  Did I really want him to do this?  Doesn’t he need me just once more?  Oh my Lord, he’s growing up.  I’m useless to him.

To be continued…

4 responses to “Wait, No! That’s Not What I Meant!

  1. Good reminder for me right now…

  2. I love you, so take this in the best possible way, but grow the hell up. 🙂 You love him, he loves you, and he’s doing exactly what you want him to do because you want him to be a functional adult one day and that includes being able to go to sleep without daddy. He still needs you, just not in the most uncomfortable and bad-for-your-back way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

