Teaching the Kittens on Game Night

Yes my friends, it’s time for another exciting round of Family Game Night!

I love board games, although I admit I’m more of a Trivial Pursuit kind of guy…  My offspring seem to have inherited a similar love of games .  I really like this considering that I’ve been waiting for them to be old enough to provide me with truly stimulating entertainment.  Did I just say that?  Well, in any event, tonight the lovely Mrs. Harvey and I sat down at our stately dining room table to play a riveting game of “Jake and the Neverland Pirates Sorry!” with Sonny Boy and Baby Girl.

Know what?  I was so tempted to write “chicken butt” right there but I didn’t.  I am delighted to report that my five year-old son has really developed a sense of good sportsmanship of late.  Time was when he would throw a sobbing, slobbering fit when he didn’t win.  Tonight, though, he showed some grit.  At one point, I observed him counting out the spaces indicated on the die inside the pop-o-matic bubble.  Despite having three other pegs he could have moved he chose to move the one that would land on my peg.  “Whoops…  SORRY!” he gleefully shouted as he physically abused my piece.  A few moments later I debated weather I should play a similar trick on him or not.  I chose that it was not necessary and I pointed that fact out to him.  He took note.  But a few minutes after that I had no choice.  “Sorry, sonny!” I said, expecting him to start feigning hurt feelings.  Instead, he held it in and then looked at me and said almost comically, “Oh man!”

In the end I won and that’s all that counts.s

 

5 responses to “Teaching the Kittens on Game Night

  1. Good job for not letting your kids win!! 🙂

  2. It’s so funny to watch them turn into little miniature versions of ourselves. My husband is a notoriously bad loser. He once threw his cards at me in monopoly because I landed on free parking. Really. It’s ugly. So I keep waiting for my 3 year old to show a similar hatred of losing. It’s like a ticking time bomb. We were playing candy land today and we were almost to the candy castle, but no one had drawn that damned cupcake. I was actually holding my breath every time he drew a card. What would he do if he had to go back to the beginning?!? In the end, I got it. He won and everyone lived to see another day. This time…

Leave a Reply

