Why Do They Do This To Me?

manic mondays

Before I begin in earnest, I just want to give my shoutout to the blog Perfection Pending and her “Manic Mondays” segment (with which this post is linked).  Check it out!  It’s a great site.

You know I’m talking about my kittens, right?

I’ve just spent the past twenty minutes doing something I should not have done. No, it wasn’t the fact that I’ve been watching Sister Wives (although that does meet the criteria listed above).  No, I plugged my phone in, opened iPhoto, and completed a routine photo-dump.  I did this because I wanted to get some cell phone pics into the hard drive so I could write a post about one of them.  In the process I inadvertently clicked on an old album from four years ago.  Know what I saw?  I saw my kittens — WHEN THEY WERE ACTUALLY KITTENS!!  OK, reality check, folks…  The “kittens” are my children.  There’s five year-old Sonny Boy and 4 year-old Baby Girl.  They are the love of my life.  If I have only one regret since marrying my beautiful wife six and a half years ago it’s that we haven’t been able to have more than these two.  I don’t know what happened but we continue to pray about it and hold out hope that God will once again smile upon us.  In the meantime, these two continue to grow taller and acquire wisdom and generally amaze me in so many ways.

These pictures made me stop and, I don’t know, feel all weird.  I set out to write this post to make people laugh and I promise I’ll get to that.  In the meantime, I found myself feeling depleted.  Where did these kids go?  Where did my hair go? What happened?  They were so young (and so was I).  Best to just close out the album before — wait, remember when he was missing his front tooth?  No of course you don’t.  You’ve never met him.  I’ll just Command+Q this program and — hold up now…  She seemed so innocent!  And just yesterday she was, oh wait, now I’m being sucked in to an episode of a TLC show about mail order brides.  OK, I’ve got to get off this train before it ends in disaster.  Let’s start all over again.

20140127-112954.jpgDo you know what it’s like to live with a comedian?  I’m not talking about an all-around funny guy where every other word just makes you laugh.  I’m talking about a funny guy who’s timing is impeccable and who uses it to expose his bizarre wit at just the right moment to catch the essence of “zing”.  That’d be my boy.  I’d love to coyly say “I don’t know where he gets it” but I’d be lying.  Recently Sonny Boy created a art project, a craft with my beautiful wife, Mrs. Harvey.  He took a long, wooden snake (yes, a disgusting snake) and, using a child’s set of oil paint, painted the individual sections different colors.  He then decided that the snake was his new “pet” and that it needed to go with him as he left the house to run errands with his mommy.  Here’s where it gets interesting.

From store to store Sonny Boy brought Snakey with him.  As he and Mommy approached the counters at these various stores to make their purchases, Son slipped Snakey out of his pocket and onto the counter, making sure the cashier wasn’t looking.  “He’s so cute,” would say the cashier to my wife.  “How old?”  Before Mrs. H. could answer, Son would look up and say “Excuse me.  Would you like to see my pet snake?”  Thence would ensue several minutes of uncontrolled giggling on his part at just how clever he had been (in his own mind).  Well, one woman laughed with him, another feigned being afraid of snakes.  “Oh no!  Is that a real snake?”  But one woman did something completely unexpected.  She decided to hear something completely not what my boy was saying.  And so, “Would you like to see my pet snake?” was answered with “Why yes!  I do love IHOP!”  My son, not sure what he had heard replied “Me too, but I don’t know if Snakey likes it.  Snakes don’t usually eat pancakes.”  The woman looked down at the counter and said “Oh my, there’s a snake on my counter!  I wonder if he likes IHOP too!”  In all honesty I’m just realizing that one either had to be there or that this story isn’t quite a funny as I had thought.

My point is that I don’t remember him having this personality when those earlier pictures were taken in 2010.  I do remember him and his sister being the center of my world — then as now. So how did it happen? When did they go from babies to stand-up comedians? And how on earth did she hear IHOP from “snake”? I suppose we’ll never know the answers to either of those questions. In the meantime, I’ve got a pet snake to look after.

4 responses to “Why Do They Do This To Me?

  1. Cute story! They do grow up so fast. It’s both astounding and heartbreaking at the same time. I frequently find myself pouring through old photos about to cry. But, I guess that’s part of growing up ourselves, right? Thanks for linking back to me….if you go to my post, there is a blue button at the bottom of it that says, “add my link”. If you add your link there, it will add you to MY blog and then hopefully others will come over and read your post. 🙂 Thanks for joining in. I hope to see you every week!

  2. Thank you so much! I would love to post more. I’m going to see if I can get my sister to check it out as well. She’s an awesome blogger. Check her out. lerheims.wordpress.com

  3. I know that feeling! I had the same experience with my daughter – she became hilariously sarcastic and I have no idea how or when it happened. It’s like living with a different person every few years, they change so fast!

  4. It’s unreal how fast they grow and change…there is no understanding that until becoming a parent. Those pictures from the past get me every time as well. Thanks for sharing “your kittens”.:)

Leave a Reply

