Becoming Social

Today’s Zero to Hero challenge is:

Today’s assignment: Explore one or more social networks, and start an account so you can being exploring the possibilities. If you’re already active on a social network, set up Publicize and link the account to your blog, and/or create a strategy for how you’ll use it.

OK, well, I think I’ve got this one covered.  One thing I’d like to ask of my fellow bloggers is: do you find that any one social network is better for building an audience over others?  I met a blogger once who told me she got tens of thousands of hits each day simply because she shared her blog via Tumblr.  I find that hard to believe.  Twitter is a pain because I have three separate accounts — a personal Twitter, a professional Twitter (I use this one for my students and fellow faculty), and a blog Twitter.  However, I haven’t touched the blog Twitter in forever and when I publicize my posts I have them set to show up on my personal Twitter.  I also don’t get around to checking in on that account much.  I don’t have a Pinterest although my wife does.  I just can’t see that anyone would want to share my kinds of stories on Pinterest.

Thoughts?  In the meantime, here’s another studly shot (no pun intended) of yours truly having some fun killing some paper for the very first time.  Turns out I’m a decent shot.

Firing one and holstering the other.

Firing one and holstering the other.

I do like Texas for this reason.

9 responses to “Becoming Social

  1. I have my blogs being shared to as many other social networks as I could just because “they” told me to, not for a solid reason with empirical data associated With that choice. I have always wanted to get the word empirical into some writing, but seldom does a need come up…what do you teach?

  2. I don’t use other social media to spread the word about my blog; I use the time tested method of linking to others, pingbacks for comments/posts etc.

    I found your blog through the WordPress search ‘tag’ feature. Cool that you are a follow DFW Metroplex resident. I’m in Arlington.

    The North Texas (and Texas in general) has a great community of gun owners/bloggers. Occassionally we get together (see my blog for Dallas Area Blogshots); I’ll keep you in mind when we arrange our next one.
    Which hopefully will be soon.

Leave a Reply

