I Shouldn’t Give a Damn ‘Bout My Reputation

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

  1. I’m catching up right now so, sorry for the backdating.
  2. The Zero to Hero challenge for this day is to take the Daily Post prompt and run with it.

So, keeping it brief…  I don’t know that I have a reputation for much of anything. If I did, though, it would be something that I’m not too fond of.  Yesterday (in real time, not backdated time) I was asked by a child if I knew what Timbuktu meant.  I replied as succinctly as I could “It’s a city in Africa”.  I thought this was common knowledge.  A friend was standing by and said “Oh, he’s just full of useless, encyclopedic knowledge.”  Yep, I think that’s my rep.

I say I hate this not because I dislike being seen as the go-to guy for people playing trivia games but because I don’t think that’s me.  Unfortunately I seem to have inherited and developed a great memory.  That seems to mean that every time I open my mouth to answer a question I open myself up to a perception that I’m some kind of know-it-all show-off.  There’s so much more to me.  But I’ve also learned that, in life, reputations can almost never be shaken.  I guess that’s about it.  If you ever want to know something useless, drop me a line.

One response to “I Shouldn’t Give a Damn ‘Bout My Reputation

  1. I think you should take the test for contestants on Jeopardy!
    I also think your friend might be a little jealous of the vastness of your mental depository…..

Leave a Reply

