Christmas Games

I remember this time last year as being a bit of a let down.  The week between Christmas and New Year’s was so strange.  I don’t know why exactly.  I looked back at some old posts from that week and they were strange.  This year I was determined things not go that way.  And yet, this afternoon I began noticing a twinge of sadness.  I think I nailed it, though, when I told my wife “These past ten days have just flown by and I haven’t had a moment to process any of it.”  From Wilma being hospitalized to me being sick the days have just run into each other.

That’s why I’m so glad that we both have the week off to spend with our kids.  In addition to the movies, episodes of Modern Marvels, and lots of cookies, I determined to spend some significant time playing with the kittens with their new toys and games.  Last night I sat down with Sonny Boy and had several rounds of two new games.  We’re trying to steer him into our love of board games.  It seems to be working.  One game is a Disney Channel-inspired variant of the old game Sorry!  No, the exclamation point is part of the game’s name; I’m not really that excited for this particular game.  Anyway, when you play Sorry! one of the fun things is that you get to knock your opponent back to his start square if you land on his piece.  Traditionally the play is supposed to say “SORRY!” in as snotty and snarky a voice as you can.  Son picked up on this immediately.  And he was ruthless against his old man.  I see how it goes…

Continuing, my wife joined me in playing a game with him where each player is given a load of cargo consisting of little plastic pieces.  Upon your turn, you are required to choose a cargo item and place it on a small plastic raft (that has a large plastic parrot sticking up out of the center).  Then, using only one finger, you must move the raft over to the next player without anything falling off.  This time, my wife won.  But Son was not satisfied.  He wanted to play for second.  And he demolished me.  Can’t wait until he can read and we can play Trivial Pursuit together.  I will shellack him.

Leave a Reply

