Texture

It’s not that I have a shortage of material about which to write.  I’m just in a writing malaise.  So I’m returning (at least for tonight) to the canned topic.  It’s kind of like going to the gym.  Every now and then one just has to get in there and do something to avoid falling off and getting soft.  For me, the gym analogy really has not meaning since I fell off years ago and am about as soft as they come.  Here’s the prompt.

Textures are everywhere: The rough edges of a stone wall. The smooth innocence of a baby’s cheek. The sense of touch brings back memories for us. What texture is particularly evocative to you?

This is a tough one.  Perhaps I’m not really a tactile person.  There is just one thing I’m thinking of right now.  It is the smooth, plastic texture of the keys on my Macbook.  That’s a no-brainer.  My fingers are on them right now.  In fact, they’re probably in contact with my digits as much as anything else during the course of a day.  It’s a unique texture and it evokes thoughts of writing — writing I haven’t been doing lately.  I’ve had this laptop for four years now.  The keys have gotten a bit smoother since I first started typing on them.  I’ve certainly used them to craft my fair share of words.  It’s kind of bothering me that, given all the things I have hammered out on this keyboard the words are currently struggling to get out.  Oh well…  The 200-odd words I just tapped out will have to suffice for now.  It’s late and I’m tired.

One response to “Texture

  1. romancingreilly

    Go commiserate with my husband.

Leave a Reply

