HodgePodge

It’s 1:24AM.  I’m awake.  My beautiful daughter is asleep in my bed.  On the TV is a show on H2 called Big History.  I love this kind of programming.  In fact, I’ll watch just about anything on the History Channel (or it’s better-programmed spin-off, H2).  I’ve decided to write more.  Fortunately, the pain in my leg has been keeping me up and I’m viewing this as God giving me an opportunity to do just that — write.  But what to write about?  Lots of things!  Let’s go…

They were having a Curious George exhibit at the museum.

They were having a Curious George exhibit at the museum.

This morning I woke up to a fight on Facebook.  Probably shouldn’t call it a fight.  I posted something that several of my friends — real, true friends; not just Facebook friends — thought needed some good, healthy debate.  I want to say right up front that I truly love all of the parties involved.  Normally, all of us are pretty much on the same page.  We’re all practicing Catholics, severely pro-life, etc.  I knew right away based on the tone and the general direction that I had been foolish.  Facebook’s a wonderful thing but it’s not the place for a big theological debate.  I should have just posted a picture of a kitten or something.  I hope my friends didn’t take it the wrong way when I simply walked away and stopped following the thread.  The reason I didn’t delete the post is because I hate doing things that I didn’t like done to me.  In the past I have posted on other friends’ posts and had the whole thing deleted.  That, to me, is a nuclear option.  I don’t want anyone to think that I am silencing him or her.  Your words have value.  I just didn’t want to continue the conversation.

Son and I took in a 4D movie about oil exploration.

Son and I took in a 4D movie about oil exploration.

Today, my wife and children and I joined up with friends of ours and their daughter at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History.  Every time we head over to that side of the Metroplex my wife and I ask aloud “Why didn’t we settle over here?”  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with the Dallas side of things.  I just really like Fort Worth.  It has something that’s lacking over here.  I don’t know what it is, but I like it.  Anyway, we had a beautiful morning and the kids all had fun.  We watched an Imax about baby animals.  It was adorable.  I even found “the Christmas station” on the radio.  It’s not even Thanksgiving.  God help us.  After the museum we had lunch.  I really wish these people lived closer.  I’d love to hang out with them more.  Alas, we’ll take what we can get and today was a very nice day.

Our friend and his daughter prepare to launch a paper airplane.

Our friend and his daughter prepare to launch a paper airplane.

If you read my last post, you know my son was heading to Granny’s house for a sleepover.  I have this policy where every time I mention my mother-in-law in a post I ask “Go say a prayer for her”.  More on that in a bit.  Well, we left our house (me, son, and Granny) and met my wife and daughter coming home from ballet at the IHOP for Friday night dinner.  Fun times.  Nothing fancy, just family time.  After dinner, my daughter, tired from a long day, started pitching a fit.  She wanted to go to Granny’s and have a sleepover.  Do you know that my son whom I already demonstrated is growing up too fast, showed himself to be even more of a big little man?  He turned to his sister and said “That’s OK.  You can go tonight.  I’m sure I’ll have another sleepover with Granny.”  What a good boy.  So tonight was, in fact, his turn.  At home his sister and I (along with my wife) had a crazy evening of cleaning, doing laundry, coloring, picking up toys, and watching the History Channel.  Typical Saturday night.  That, by the way, is why she’s in my bed.  With her brother out of the house, we thought we’d treat her to a night in Mommy and Daddy’s room.

Another thing going through my mind right now?  Today (now Sunday since it’s after midnight) is exactly one year since my mom had a mini-stroke.  I’m thankful to God that she’s still with us and that she was well enough to come visit us last week.  Love you, Mom, and hope you’re around with us for many years to come. Stay with us and I promise to keep writing for you since I know how much you like it.  I mentioned earlier about prayers for my mother-in-law…  She has been doing remarkably well with her chemo.  I know this is a direct result of God’s good grace coming to her courtesy of the prayers of so many wonderful people.  Please, please, please keep them coming.  It just takes a minute every day to ask God to heal her of her cancer.  Thanks.

And that is all.  For now.

Leave a Reply

