Back to the Grind…

Random shot of the kittens' bedroom because I think it's cute.

Random shot of the kittens’ bedroom because I think it’s cute.

Well friends, tonight was my last night of freedom.  You see, when I’m not chasing after my kittens or writing endless blog posts about them, I spend my days employed as a high school teacher.  I should say, I spend those days employed as long as school is in session.  Since this is Texas and it’s the beginning of August that means school is starting up again.  Where I work, teachers have to come in almost two full weeks ahead of the students for what we call “in-service” days.  Don’t get me started.  I suppose it’s as good a way as any to ease myself back into the grind.  The reality is that I grew up in the Northeast where school didn’t start until after Labor Day.  To top it off, when I started teaching (also in the Northeast) teachers reported a day ahead of the kids.  Needless to say I’m still not quite used to this.  One of my sisters is a teacher back home.  She lamented that she only has five weeks of vacation left.  Rub it in, why don’t you?

For the past few years my wife has always treated this day as a special day.  She treats me to some sort of celebration in honor of the “last day”.  This summer just flew by.  All day long I just wasn’t feeling into what I’m about to embark upon tomorrow — another year of shaping young minds.  But tonight was all about celebrating the great joys of my profession in that I have so much more time than other dads get to be with their litters, I mean, kids.  About a year and a half ago we picked up a copy of the movie Smurfs when my son was sick with a cold.  To our delight we found that we all loved the movie and we’ve been anxiously awaiting the release of the sequel.  Well, it was released yesterday so tonight we went to dinner and then on to a screening of Smurfs 2.  And before I knew it I found myself laughing along, not only at the movie but also at my kids enjoying themselves so much.  There really isn’t anything to compare to a child’s hearty laughter.  It’s the kind of laughter I think everyone should share.  It says “I don’t care what anyone else thinks, I find this funny and I”m going to laugh!”

Enjoy every moment with your kids, your spouses, your families, your friends.  Or as we say in my line of work “Eat, drink, be merry.  For tomorrow we teach.”

 

One response to “Back to the Grind…

  1. Best wishes for a terrific school year, Harvey!

Leave a Reply

