Benedict and Rita Surprise New Jersey: Day 15

And like that, our surprise trip was over.  And I’m a little sad.  But I’m extremely grateful for a wife who went to all that trouble and kids who were beyond good-natured about being shuffled all over the Northeast for two weeks AND family who were so receptive to hosting us.  I love all of them and I can’t wait for them to visit us here in Texas.

The day started out with an interesting view from our hotel (see picture).  Then it was off to PHL.  Again, I will not recommend or not recommend Spirit Airlines.  This was only our first experience and I want to give them some more time.  I will say that our flight was delayed about two hours (not a big deal) but the woman in front of me at the ticket counter had been there for two days’ worth of cancelled flights.  I don’t know the circumstances so I cannot comment.  Some things could have been better — perhaps a sign stating that we needed to print passes from a machine before getting into a line labeled “full service”.  But all in all, the plane was extremely clean and well lighted and the crew were very friendly.  I appreciate that a lot (especially when traveling with kids).  There was a brief moment at the airport where my kids melted down and I wound up carrying ALL of their stuff (see below).  Then came a moment where it looked like our flight might get cancelled.  Within seconds my wife and I had devised our contingency plan.  We would stay in Philadelphia through the Fourth of July weekend and simply have my family drive down to hang out with us in the city where it all began!  And then they started boarding.

A few short hours later and we were back in our own home…  looking around at the work that had been completed by the contractors, and contemplating the work still to be done.  Until next trip…

I actually really dig this view down Race St. (Philly).  Chinatown with the Ben Franklin Bridge in the distance.

I actually really dig this view down Race St. (Philly). Chinatown with the Ben Franklin Bridge in the distance.

Lucky me...  Actually I am lucky to have such wonderful kids even if I have to carry their stuff.  I'm a dad, it's kind of what I do.

Lucky me… Actually I am lucky to have such wonderful kids even if I have to carry their stuff. I’m a dad, it’s kind of what I do.

Catch the Spirit...  of Spirit Airlines.

Catch the Spirit… of Spirit Airlines.

My in-flight meal.

My in-flight meal.

Look carefully, it's Big D from ten thousand feet!

Look carefully, it’s Big D from ten thousand feet!

One response to “Benedict and Rita Surprise New Jersey: Day 15

  1. We miss you guys! Glad you had a great time. I think travel aggravation is worth it if it means you get to see family. But then again, I am cheap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

