Summer Has Officially Arrived!

Yesterday I took my son to work with me.  It was my very last day of work for a few months (actually, not quite two months, but who, other than me, is counting?).  The exams were over.  This was the day where we teachers show up dressed in shorts and tee shirts, loaf around the building, shove all of our “valuables” into the closets in our classroom so they won’t be disturbed by summer school students, and then verify our grades before peeling out of the parking lot at a high rate of speed.  The boy thoroughly enjoyed his time with Daddy.  In fact, he came into our room at 6:30 this morning.  I was actually already out of bed watching the morning news in the family room.  According to my wife, he approached her somewhat frantically.  “Mommy!  Where’s Daddy?  I’m supposed to go to work with him today!”  He found out that his cousin in NJ had also gone into work with his Daddy yesterday and he just thought this was cool.

In the course of our day, we had a little extra time to kill so we went out for lunch.  It was just a little pizza place near the school but it was lots of fun eating out with my son, just the two of us.  On the way home, I was so filled with glee that I heeded my son’s suggestion that we take “the bridge”.  “The bridge” is the fairly new Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge.  It crosses the Trinity River which is barely a stream as it passes through Dallas in an ultra-wide levee.  The bridge is massive and has become a symbol of the Dallas skyline.  The only problem is that it leads to absolutely nowhere.  OK, so it goes to the West Dallas neighborhood of the city.  I mean to say that crossing it added about twenty-five minutes to our drive home.  But I didn’t care.  He had fun.  I had fun.  And no we can have fun every day for the next seven weeks!

When we got home my daughter, a little sad that she hadn’t come with us (even though she came with me a few days earlier) decided to go into her room and get changed.  This wouldn’t have been a problem if she hadn’t decided to put on flannel footie pajamas on a 90 degree day.  So I decided to join her in her game of dress up.  Appropriate for the moment, I dusted off my mortarboard (doesn’t everyone have one?) and posed for a picture.  Oh, and the kitchen guys left me a little present in the form of sheetrock.

Leave a Reply

