The New Drive

This morning I woke up in my old, comfortable bed.  The only thing is that this bed was in a new, somewhat unfamiliar house.  What was even more unfamiliar to me was the new commute that lay ahead of me on my way to work.  Truth be told, the route isn’t all that different.  Still, I backed out of my driveway unsure of whether to turn right or left.  Each way would ultimately lead me to the same highway.

Unable to find the coffee filters (or the coffee pot for that matter) I made the decision to head to the closest drive-thru.  In this case, it happened to be a Jack in the Box around the corner, where I was greeted at the menu board by a young man who’s electronically altered voice belied a dubious sense of masculinity.  “Welcome to Jack in the Box.  My name is Josue.  How can I help you?”  He sounded friendly enough.  But that name…  I almost verbally responded: “Ho-sway?  Really?  You’re gonna’ stick with that, Joe?”

Coffee in hand, I found my way to work and all continued as normal.  Some of my colleagues and all of my students are as perplexed as I am that we still have another full week of classes until exams begin.  I know we started the year a week later than usual but the car has been out of gas for a while now.  Oh well.  We trudge on toward the finish line.

One response to “The New Drive

  1. When I was in school, this would be review week for the
    exams. We’d ply the teachers to give us a hint as to what
    we would have to answer on the tests. And much happiness
    in your new home!

Leave a Reply

