The Feast of Rita

Today is the feast day of my very favorite saint of all time, the fifteenth century Augustinian widow/nun and peacemaker, Rita of Cascia.

Anyone who knows me knows that my devotion to her is so strong that my wife and I married in Philadelphia even though neither of us has ties to that city because that is where St. Rita’s US Shrine is. We even named our only daughter after her. Prior to our move to Texas, every May 22nd used to be our opportunity to travel the few hours by car to the shrine to celebrate with the thousands who pack one of about a dozen masses there to honor her. But it’s a little far for us to travel there these days so we make due with what we have. And today we have simply an opportunity for a nice family dinner (at Chick-fil-a, where else?). But we also have the opportunity for a nice family dessert at one of my favorite sweet shops from back East. That’s right, the aptly-named Rita’s has been opening a few locations in North Texas lately. All in all, our day was as we hope all our days will be through St. Rita’s intercession — peaceful. May God bless each of you with His gift of peace and inspire all of us to work tireless to bring peace to one another.

My son, the ham.

My son, the ham.

My daughter Rita at her new favorite shop!

My daughter Rita at her new favorite shop!

Leave a Reply

