Daddy Meal

Tonight I went to mass with my wife and kids.  Somewhere between the first reading and the offertory, my son got the crazy idea that we would go to Chick-fil-a for dinner.  In fact, he came to the back of the church to whisper to me that “Mommy said we could go to Chick-fil-a for dinner”.  Not realizing that what she had actually told him was “Daddy can take you to Chick-fil-a for dessert and to play on the playground” I played along to keep him quiet.  After mass, however, I discovered the truth.  I can’t blame the boy.  He honestly thought Mommy had said “dinner”.  Then he pitched a crying fit when he discovered that we would be eating dinner at home.  So to placate him I played up what would be for dinner…

A Daddy Meal!

A Daddy Meal!

You see, he wanted a Kids Meal or a Happy Meal or whatever CFA calls it.  But my Daddy Meal was so much better.  Chicken nuggets, veggie straws, a drink (it was just water)…  Why, it even came with a library book on dinosaur tracks!

After dinner, as promised, we did go to Chick-fil-a for dessert and to play.  We had a great time and I can’t wait to do it again.

One response to “Daddy Meal

  1. Elwood P. Dowd

    You see the thing that interests me here is the veggie straws. While I will admit they are perhaps slightly more addictive than pure heroine, I must say that as a child I do not recall such things. We did indeed have straw shaped vegetables, they were called string beans… and they were terrible for the first several years of my life. I later learned to love them. This was after many years of tutelage in the school of what in English is called “Does this look like a diner? Eat your food or don’t eat at all”. After many years of study, supplemented by another ancient discipline which may be called “You’re poor and in college, if you add enough hot sauce and salt you can eat it”, I think I can fairly claim myself to be entirely omnivorous. The inventor of these “veggie straws” is clearly trying to cut corners and, in short, I’m not sure how I feel about that. Have you any words of wisdom Harvey?

Leave a Reply

