Lazy (Boring) Friday

At work I taught straight through the day.  I had to sub for an absent teacher.  No problem, though, as it took my mind off being bored.  The year is winding down and the students are, as they say, getting restless.  Through in that their prom is coming up and it gets really crazy trying to capture their attention.  I came home to an empty house.  My wife and kids had gone out to East Texas for the afternoon.  I busied myself by folding several loads of laundry.  Then I went to confession and mass.  That last part has become my Friday night ritual.  If you had asked me ten years ago where I saw myself in the year 2013 I certainly wouldn’t have responded “In a church in Texas on a Friday night.”  But it also passed the time.  After this, I headed out to the Apple Store.  My iPhone (a year and a half old) had been malfunctioning.  The button up top (that actually turns it on and off) would not respond.  I got there just before they closed and they gave me the death stare.  You know, the one that says “I can’t believe you walked in here right as we were trying to start closing and want us to fix something.”  But they did fix it.  Actually they just gave me a new one.  All in all, the day was productive and I managed to avoid the pitfalls of boredom I usually face when my family are away.

Leave a Reply

