Getting Ready

Tonight my lovely wife and I went to a party.  It was a party to celebrate the impending birth of the baby of one of my co-workers.  OK, you could call it a baby shower.  But we weren’t.  No, it was a non-shower party.  The reason we did this?  The party was for a friend, a woman with whom I have worked the past two years.  It was hosted by our department at work.  As a department we like to celebrate things with our spouses and kids whenever possible.  So tonight we were at a “shower” party with several men.  Never laugh at this.  I met my lovely wife at a baby shower.  Don’t ask.  Anyway, the point of all this was to come together to get ready to welcome the new little one and wish his parents well with gifts, food, and fun.

Though I am starting to get sad because this particular friend (and carpool mate) will be retiring after baby makes his debut (actually going out at the end of the upcoming week), I am excited for her and her husband.  They’re a young couple and this is their first.  And I’m very happy for the baby because he’s going to have a mommy who can stay home with him.  I’m always jealous of that!

And the big hit of the night was the polka dot cake my lovely wife made for the party.

2 responses to “Getting Ready

  1. I would like to order a polka dot cake for my birthday please 🙂

  2. Going to miss my carpool buddy. … and thanks for that LOVELY picture of the mommy and daddy to be. Goodness, don’t we look fantabulous.

Leave a Reply

