Writing A Letter Short

Next time won't you sing with me?

Next time won’t you sing with me?

What a beautiful evening I had with my kittens!  After work today I met up with my wife and kids at the chapel of a nearby Catholic college where we’ve been in the habit of attending daily mass.  They have a 5PM mass there and we’ve found it convenient with our schedules.  I don’t know what came over me (hopefully, the Holy Spirit) but despite my daughter acting like a drunk — it was quite funny, actually — and my son like a general madman I managed to stay cheerful.  I reflected not on their disobedience (which we’re trying to work on overcoming and making great strides at that; they are, after all, 3 and 4 years-old); but rather on the fact that I was happy just to be with them and share this time of prayer and Eucharist.  I was happy to dwell on the words “Suffer the little children to come unto me” and know that He was talking about my kids with all their craziness!  After mass my wife went out for the evening and I took my little ones home.  I made us all something to eat (three different menus for three different people), gave them a bath (they didn’t fight me or each other on this one), and then let them watch one show on TV.  Miraculously there was no complaining, no arguing, and we all had fun just being with each other.  Finally it was bedtime and I opted for a neighborhood drive so we could pray our rosary while they fell asleep.

Since this evening was so totally not about me but about God’s grace and my beautiful children I thought I would take the following prompt from the Daily Post:

There are 26 letters in the English language, and we need every single one of them. Want proof? Choose a letter and write a blog post without using it. (Feeling really brave? Make it a vowel!)

…and write a story without i”.  Clever, huh?  OK, here goes.  And as I don’t know Polish, I’ll skip that last directive.

Not me...

Not me…

My beautiful wonderful children kids offspring young’uns and I (could go with me but that’s just wrong) the Daddy of the house had a great time chronology of events this evening tonight earlier after sundown.  We played, ate, bathed, and relaxed.  Whew, not a one on that last sentence.  Daddy loves them both with all his heart very much and he looks forward to another superb day like similar tomorrow!

Why do I feel like the Knights Who Say Ni right now?

One response to “Writing A Letter Short

Leave a Reply

