Six Things

It’s getting late.  I’m almost at the deadline.  Then again, it’s a self-imposed, “postaday” deadline of midnight so I can adjust if need be.  What did I do all evening?  Well, for starters I had the day off (thank you teaching career) so I spent the day playing with my kids.  The evening was spent at mass (it’s Lent), having a wonderful dinner courtesy of my wonderful wife, playing with the kids some more, putting said kids to bed, and then working on a paper for a class I’m taking online.  Just as I was about to drift off to sleep I remembered you two, my loyal readers and forced myself out of bed to sit down and write.  Here’s the prompt.

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

1) I don’t think of my life as boringly anything.  I am well aware of how bizarre my life might seem to an outsider.  As a student put it once “You just have the most interesting life and a story for every occasion!”  I know, kids, that’s what I’m here for.

2) I used to work in television.  This fact surprises some people.  Mostly they wonder how or why I went from producing TV shows to teaching theology in a Catholic high school (and enjoying it).  Let’s just say that for as much fun as it was there’s not much going on in the world of the small screen.

Fun fact #8: I used to have a full head of hair!

Fun fact #8: I used to have a full head of hair!
Hint: I’m the tall one and it’s the 90’s… in Jersey.

3) I studied for five years to be a Catholic priest.  Oh yes, I’m not like Carson Daly or Sean Hannity who claim to have been seminarians yet only put in a passing glance directed at a house of formation.  No, I did three years of college seminary and then two years of major theology.  I wore the collar and all and I looked damn good in black.  But it was not meant to be.  See point number 2 above as to the how of my teaching career.

4) I come from an obscenely large family.  Before the Duggars I had never even heard of anyone with as many siblings as myself.  I love large families and my wife and I would love one of our own.  We have two beautiful kids but alas, nothing yet comparing with where I’m from.  Keep praying for us because our hearts are always open.  Oh, and the number?  I’m 14 out of 16.

5) I really can write a story or paper for almost any occasion on-demand.  I once took over for my ailing brother-in-law who was finishing a master’s degree in advanced nursing.  He’s been an RN for over thirty years.  I’m just a medical junkie.  I sat down to assist him at his laptop with some grammatical suggestions.  Seeing that he wasn’t feeling well I took pity and just wrote the paper.  Don’t judge.  He got an A.  This is because I long ago cracked the code on the game of contemporary education.  In other words, I always know what they’re looking for and how to deliver.

6) I love to travel (mostly within the US) and am fascinated by the Interstate Highway System.  When I was a young boy I used to study maps of the states and I committed the road network to memory.  It has served me quite well as an adult making long-haul trips back and forth between my home in Texas and my parents and siblings in New Jersey.  We’ve never taken that trip the same way twice!

If it weren’t so late I’d throw in about how I just don’t “get” shrimp.  They really disturb me.  I mean, really…  What are they anyway?  Floating commas of the ocean, if you ask me.

3 responses to “Six Things

  1. “I am not a shrimp! I am a king prawn, okay?”

    – Pepe the King Prawn

  2. I took a poll of outsiders (our three cats), and even they consider my life boringly normal. Guess I’ll have to arrange for a parachute jump when i turn 80…

Leave a Reply

