Getting Ready for Lent

True, it’s not like getting ready for Advent (which is itself a getting ready for Christmas).  That one involves pulling out boxes and sweeping out the corner where the tree’s going to stand.  Nope, this one is a bit more intense.  Preparing for Lent, in our household, involves getting crafty.  Let me explain.

Each year for Lent, the forty days of increased prayer, fasting, and almsgiving associated with preparation for the celebration of Christ’s suffering, death, and resurrection at Easter, my wife and I try to teach our kids the importance of actually doing these things (praying, fasting, and giving alms).  Since they’re little we don’t have them actually fast.  And since they’re little we need to find ways to make it stick in their minds.  I’ll be writing more about this over on my other blog — The Infant of Prague Blog — in the coming days.  At precisely this moment, several dozen of you, not least of whom is my sister and co-author Le.Rheims, are scratching your heads and saying “What?  That blog is still active?!”  Yes, it’s been a while.  It’s in the process (in my mind) of transforming from a saint-a-day kind of thing to an all-things-Catholic kind of page.  Trust me, it’s going to be good.

Also, Le.Rheims, I’m expecting you to write at least once a week.

To kick us off tonight I’m going to show you how we spent our afternoon.  My wife got this idea somewhere (another blog) and we tried our hands at it today.  The kids enjoyed making exactly one of these things before deciding that Mommy and Daddy and Aunt Kris finish them.  Picture the Stations of the Cross in popsicle sticks!  Feast your eyes on these…

Leave a Reply

