WordPress’ers, Are We Still Postaday-ing?

Now that the New Year is underway, I just wanted to see how many of us are still doing Postaday.

I love blogging!

I love blogging!

I started postaday-ing in January of 2011.  At that time the tag we used per WordPress was “Postaday2011”.  I got so used to typing that tag every day that when last January rolled around it took me some time to get un-used to it!  In fact, WordPress didn’t even officially sponsor Postaday last year until a number of us took it upon ourselves to continue the tradition.  I like the challenge.  I like the results.  Even when it’s hard to write, it’s still fun.  Even when what you write is tough to read, there’s no more honest reflection of the writer as a man.  In 2012 I wrote about everything from my kids getting bigger to their grandfather dying suddenly.  I wrote about our road trips and the blazing heat of the North Texas summer.  I wrote about advancing my career and about the mundane details of everyday life.  But I wrote and I wrote every day.

Charlene Tilton says: "Blog!  Blog, dammit, blog!!!"

Charlene Tilton says: “Blog! Blog, dammit, blog!!!”

In 2013 I have just a few resolutions.  I intend to be more prayerful, attending daily mass as a start.  I also intend to be a better writer.  There’s always a hope in the back of my mind that someone with the power to do something will read my musings and decide to publish them and make me fabulously wealthy.  Then reality takes over and I realize that I am richer in blessings than I could ever have imagined.  I love to write and writing every day helps keep me sharp.  I intend to get more involved in follows and comments.  For instance, my niece just started a blog!  I’m going to mentor her (not that she asked) and share what I’ve learned.

So, any of you loyalists who are still involved with postaday-ing (tough to say, I know) give me a shout out, like this post, +1, share, follow me.  I’m assuming the tag is still just “postaday”.  Maybe this year, the good folks at WordPress will finally notice me and I’ll get Freshly Pressed!  Or maybe they’ve already noticed and that’s why I’ve never been Freshly Pressed.  Either way, I’ll keep writing.  I hope you will, too!

8 responses to “WordPress’ers, Are We Still Postaday-ing?

  1. Yay! I got a shoutout! 🙂

  2. You are the best dad blogger out there, and I resolve in 2013 to proclaim it everywhere I can, for what it’s worth. (No one has yet made me wealthy or famous, but I have had a whole lot of fun!)

  3. I may not have read every post of yours but I enjoyed reading every time I did! I am not committing to every day this year but will post once a week, on The Kindness Kronicles and also a new blog about hosting international students. Keep your eye out for Denver Host Stories! Good on you to keep it going, looking forward to 2013…:)

  4. You can’t have her. Aisleigh is my protege.

  5. I feel the same way….They totally dropped the ball of Postaday2012 tag…I was in the zone after a great 2011 and then I was like, dang what happened. But I think they shifted focus to Daily Prompt, Writing Challenge, and Photo Challenge and migrated back to postaday. I found it fun to write and improve writing everyday.

  6. You have a pretty great voice on your blog…I gotto follow along…We kind of have similar viewpoints. kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

