Boxing Day

Also, it was a good day for a baptism as this priest baptized my newest nephew (on my wife's side).  The priest happens to be the boy's grandfather.  Long story.

Also, it was a good day for a baptism as this priest baptized my newest nephew (on my wife’s side). The priest happens to be the boy’s grandfather. Long story.

No, this one has nothing to do with pugilism.  If you saw the last line of yesterday’s post you know I have no interest in messing up my pretty face in the pursuit of self-defense.  Boxing Day, although the origins are uncertain, appears to be a postal holiday in every sense.  Celebrated in England, Canada, and other former crown nations, is a day to celebrate the postmen who delivered all your boxes at Christmas.  Another variant of the tradition states that in medieval times (the historical era, not the schlocky arena show) people would leave boxes out that were filled with coins for the poor.  Either way, in twenty-first century America it is simply a day to rest after the insanity that is Christmas Day.  In the Catholic Church it is also the feast of St. Stephen, the deacon and first martyr of the Christian faith.  Yes, we celebrate the birth of Christ one day and follow it immediately with the feast of the first man to die for his faith in that little baby.

On another note, I thought I’d put this poll out there.

3 responses to “Boxing Day

  1. So far, I’m the only NO vote – my thought is that later on your children will appreciate reading your joyful writing recapping a few days’ worth of thoughts, rather than reading something that you wrote under
    pressure every day. (This advice applies to your blog only.
    If you should ever find yourself facing a deadline for a multi-million-dollar book contract, then for Pete’s sake, write ’til it’s finished. Mrs.
    Harvey, I’m sure, will supply the necessary gin-and-tonic.)

  2. I tried to vote for both the gina and tonic, and the write a day. I thought that imbibing the alcohol might ease your writer’s block?
    But it would only let me vote for one item. Alas!

Leave a Reply

