Publishing Bug

I don’t know why but I’ve been feeling the publishing bug tonight.  I started looking up self-publishing options.  I am intrigued and yet sightly overwhelmed at the information.  I just have one question.  I think the easiest thing for me to do would be to take selections of my blog posts and just put them together as a book.  For instance, I might like to take the forty or so-odd posts from my first cross-country road trip with Ben (the thing that started this whole blog) and string them together as a story of sorts.  So then, what would a good topic be?  Furthermore, would anyone really be interested in reading this?  I know if I were to go through the iBookstore and see an interesting title from an unknown author I’d probably hesitate before agreeing to spend $2.99 on it.  But that’s just me.  Any thoughts?

2 responses to “Publishing Bug

  1. AirportsMadeSimple

    Hi Harvey- I struggle with the same issue in my personal writings (not so much with the airport blog–that’s moving in a different direction).

    I think you go with your gut. Search bookstores, blogs, Amazon, travel, and other catagories to see what’s out there, and by doing that, you’ll probably come up with 4-5 possible slants.

    I get my best ideas when I force myself out of my routine or when I’m just quiet. We don’t know how to be alone and quiet, but when we do, sometimes it can be revealing and inspiring.

    Go with your gut. Also, I think I’m headed in a 1-2-3 route. Then, looking back, I realize I went 1-3-2 instead! So I try to be open and not get in my own way.

    Hope that wasn’t too preachy-it’s just what has happened in my life.

    Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

