It’s What We Do

Yesterday afternoon I got up off the table at the chiropractor’s office.

“You’re doing so much better; still, a little tension on one side this week,” said Dr. Norman.

A little tension on one side is fine with me.  This time last year I could barely walk.

But then again, healing is kind of what he does.

courtesy Wikimedia Commons, public domain

“Before you go,” he added, “I just wanted to let you know that my dad passed away this weekend.”

We discussed the arrangements briefly before I remarked that my wife, mother-in-law, and I would all be either at the viewing or the funeral.

“That’s very kind of you,” he added.

“It’s nothing.  It’s kind of what we do.”

Thank God I had just covered that lesson on the corporal and spiritual works of mercy with my students.  But the truth is, as Christians it is our job to comfort the sorrowful.  One thing I learned from my dad was that the simple gesture of showing up for someone in his hour of grief can mean the world to that person.  It’s not why we do it.  We do it because of Our Lord’s Golden Rule — Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  As St. Francis taught us, it is “in giving of ourselves that we receive.”

When you read this, please say a prayer for the doctor’s father and for their family.

One response to “It’s What We Do

  1. Expressing compassion and giving consolation to those who mourn gives me hope for humanity in a world that seems at times to be numb to human suffering. May your doctor’s father rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

