And You’re Still Awake Because…?

It’s almost midnight.

My darling son is wide awake.

I am trying to figure this one out.

Surprise Dad! I’m not tired!

We were all up at an ungodly hour this morning. We went to see the chiropractor (for Daddy’s back, which is doing remarkably well). We even spent the rest of the day at Six Flags Over Texas. It was “bring a friend” day. Since my wife, son, mother-in-law, and I all have season passes (my daughter is too young to need one) we decided to take advantage of the unseasonably cool weather to bring my brother-in-law and his kids to the park. Ride after ride — well, not for me and my daughter as we don’t do thrill rides — my son should have been getting more exhausted with each track loop. And yet, here we are. He’s stayed up through his little sister going to bed. He’s stayed up through the premier of The Voice (when I would have imagined the sight and sound of Christina Aguilera would make him pray for sleep to come). He stayed up through the assembly of a really neat Lego play set, daddy cleaning every dish in the house, and folding several loads of laundry. Reading that last sentence I just realized what a happening life I have on Saturday nights.

Anyway, he’s currently watching Toy Story (the first one) on my bed. I’m writing since he’s quiet enough for me to write. He’l get there. And then he’ll be loads of fun at mass tomorrow morning. Oy.

By the way, I went ahead and registered for my first quarter of classes and will begin working on my second master’s degree in about a week. St. Rita comes through again! Thanks to everyone for the prayers and please keep them up.

Leave a Reply

