Thursdays with Wilma

My mother-in-law came over this morning.  She was watching three of her other grandchildren and figured I’d like the company.  Well, I ALWAYS like her company.  She’s good people.  But I think she was hoping for the backup I could provide her as she watched her three.  Together, we got through it.

It was far too hot to let the kids outside.  There’s a West Nile outbreak, too, so even if it had been cooler they weren’t crossing my threshold.  Taking all of them out somewhere would have been pointless.  So I did the next best thing.  I ran to Walmart and got some “crafts-y” things.  And for an hour or so after lunch I instructed the little ones as they first made some kind of glittery door hanger things with their names on them and then painted some watercolors.  Since it was too early to drink I joined them.  Wilma remarked to me that this was like running a daycare and she could not imagine doing that.  “Well Wilma,” I replied, “I think the key might be in NOT offering five different lunch items.”  Let’s not make this task any harder on ourselves.  Anyway, a good time was had, and all that.

Take a look.

2 responses to “Thursdays with Wilma

  1. I’d sign up for Wilma’s Daycare…but only if it served her famous zero-calorie fried chicken. 😉

  2. I want a door hanger. Tell my God daughter to make me one that says “Aunt Bridgie Is My Favorite!” I’ll be expecting it. Thanks. Oh, and make sure there are plenty of Jesus fish on it.

Leave a Reply

